President Benigno S. Aquino III has appointed Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara as the new Executive Director of the Philippine Council for Industry, Energy and Emerging Technology Research and Development (PCIEERD) of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST).

The appointment of Dr. Guevara comes after the recent appointment of Dr. Amelia P. Guevara, erstwhile PCIEERD Executive Director, as DOST Undersecretary for Research and Development.

A well-respected engineer and educator, the new Executive Director of PCIEERD specializes in speech and audio signal processing, time-frequency analysis and synthesis, and artificial intelligence.

As an educator for 27 years, Dr. Guevara began as an instructor and is currently a professor at the University of the Philippines Diliman. From 2004 to 2010, she served as Dean of the UP Diliman – College of Engineering and was Executive Director of the UP National Engineering Center.

From April 2007 to July 2010, Dr. Guevara was the program leader of the Engineering Research and Development for Technology (ERDT) of the DOST. The ERDT Project, which is being implemented through a consortium of eight universities in the Philippines, aims to upgrade the qualifications of local engineers and to increase the number of MS and PhD graduates in Engineering.

Additionally, Dr. Guevara has been the recipient of several awards in engineering and education, including the 2010 Metrobank Foundation Search for Outstanding Teachers of the Philippines for the higher education category.

As the new Executive Director of DOST-PCIEERD, Dr. Guevara will be responsible for leading one of three sectoral planning councils of the DOST. DOST-PCIEERD is the lead agency for the planning, promotion and management of scientific and technological research for the industry, energy and emerging technology sectors. (Margarette T. Maceda, RITTD-PCIEERD)


Caption: DOST Secretary Mario G. Montejo swore in Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara as the new Executive Director of DOST-PCIEERD on July 2, 2012. Also in the photo are (left to right) USec. Fortunato T. Dela Peña, USec. Amelia P. Guevara and USec. Carol M. Yorobe.

Pin It